Keep your 2FA recovery code, because Prey will not help you if you don't!

Hi all, I am writing this as a disgruntled customer who stopped (or rather, unable to) using Prey for about one or two months.

Long story short, my story goes like this:
I have been using Prey before stopping for about more than one year, and I was a university student before I graduated recently and decided that it would be better for me to start using a password manager to manage all my account passwords (because well, soon to be working adult and it’s time to be more responsible with my IT habits), so that I do not log in to anything with just a same password, and also, I can manage and store other things in a data entry of my manager like my 2FA recovery codes, my 2FA secret key (used to set up your 2FA for an account the first time, which can also be represented as QR code, for those who don’t know)

About three months ago, because I only set up my 2FA on my old Android phone when it broke down, didn’t set it up as well (with WinAuth on Windows and Chrome plugin on Linux for those who are interested in setting up) on my Windows/Linux dual boot laptop, I lost my only 2FA access (and hence the only possible way to retrieve the secret key Prey gave me to set up 2FA). I also have never thought of keeping my 2FA recovery code email (not to be confused with the secret key) one year ago before my phone went down, when I first set up the 2FA for Prey.

As a result, I cannot login to Prey even after resetting my old phone, and also obviously when I just re-contracted last month for a new phone with my telco.

But the true nightmare really begins here, which is why I am writing here, and it’s about just how ridiculous Prey developers can be.

We are given an option of “lost your mobile device?” when we log-in, if we have problems with our 2FA. So I went there hoping the recovery code will arrive to my email.

But the email never came.