shouldPreyCFile setting, and prey.conf modification times

I was analyzing the logs from my backup software. (We all do that, right?) And I noticed that prey.conf is getting backed up several times a day.

I’m not reconfiguring prey several times a day. The file contents aren’t changing. But the mod time is getting updated. So I went to high alert.

I confirmed with support that behavior is intentional:

Now I will accept that I’m just a stupid newb. I haven’t even been using GNU+Linux for 30 years yet.

I’m going to go out on a limb though and say magically touching it doesn’t do that. Have an immutable bit why dontcha. But touching is not necessary if the file hasn’t changed. If anything, check it’s hash on the hour and alert the portal if its changed and THEN (and only then) revert the change. Or use inotify or incrond to DETECT changes. but repeatedly overwriting it seems amateur/desperate.

But before they responded to me I got to looking. it appears that prey stores its settings in a sqlite db file called command.db, not just the prey.conf file that you might expect.

Here’s whats in that command.db sqlite file. (with unique values redacted, of course)

user@x360:~$ sqlite3 /etc/prey/commands.db <<<".dump"
PRAGMA foreign_keys=OFF;
BEGIN TRANSACTION;
CREATE TABLE versions (id TEXT PRIMARY KEY, “from” TEXT, “to” TEXT, attempts INTEGER, notified INTEGER);
CREATE TABLE keys (id TEXT PRIMARY KEY, value TEXT);
INSERT INTO keys VALUES(‘public_key’,‘LS0mypublickeyredactedtLQ==’);
INSERT INTO keys VALUES(‘private_key’,‘LS0myprivatekeyredacted0tLQ==’);
INSERT INTO keys VALUES(‘last_connection’,‘1711redacted649’);
INSERT INTO keys VALUES(‘hostname’,‘elitelaptopdotelitehaxordotcom’);
INSERT INTO keys VALUES(‘shouldPreyCFile’,‘true’);